Welcome to Manchester Confidential
Reset Password
The Confidential websites will be undergoing routine updates. This may cause the sites to go offline. We apologise in advance for any inconvenience.

You are here: Manchester ConfidentialFood & DrinkItalian.

Slice, Stevenson Square, Reviewed

Jonathan Schofield finds probably the best pizzas in the region

Published on September 5th 2012.


Slice, Stevenson Square, Reviewed

SLICE is genius.

The little things in life. The details. Get these right and you're on your way. Especially with food.

"This makes the perfect Roman pizza, one with a a very thin crispy base that acts as great platform for piling the other flavours on top."

Slice has got it spot on.

People have been tweeting and gossiping about this little place on Stevenson Square for a while now. 

The buzz is justified. These are the best pizzas I've eaten outside Italy. They're better than 99% of the pizzas I've eaten in the boot shaped country too. 

The price is £2-£3 depending on your choice. 

SliceSlice - look at the lushness here

I had the pesto slice and the mushroom and ham slice. Both were magnificent. The generous toppings were chock with flavour, the base was exquisite. I could have eaten them twice over.

For the love of pizzasFor the love of pizzas

Fellow food critic, the globe-trotting Neil Sowerby who was with me had a smoked mozzarella and mushroom slice and a Parma ham slice - top picture on this page. He was equally impressed. 

The pizzas are a labour of love. And you can tell. 

Liam Cassidy and Matt McGuirk the proprietors, after stints in various Manchester bars and restaurants, went to Rome to delve into the mysteries of the favourite food of the Mutant Ninja Turtles.

They served apprenticeship in the pizzerias of Emiliano Baldini and despite the present excellence of the food on offer are going back for more training this winter. They're beyond passionate about pizzas.

"We've also had a Castelli oven handmade for us by a pair of brothers in Lazio to help us get things just right," says Cassidy. "This makes the perfect Roman pizza, one with a a very thin crispy base that acts as great platform for piling the other flavours on top. It also helps with the foccacia and panninis we make."

Specially made Castelli ovenSpecially made Castelli oven

You could easily imagine a Slice in every town and city in the UK but any expansion plans might be difficult.

"We'd never sleep," says Cassidy. "The recipes for the pizza and the bread is a closely guarded secret from our training. We'd have to work all night."

SliceSlice

Slice opens from noon to 1am Monday to Saturday. There are the pizzas, but also foccacia with fillings such as rosemary and tomatoes or for the sweet toothed, Nutella. There are various panninis on offer too. A drinks licence should arrive in the next couple of months.

But people, those pizzas. Wow. Look at them. Genius. It's the little things. 

You can follow Jonathan Schofield on Twitter here @JonathSchofield

ALL SCORED CONFIDENTIAL REVIEWS ARE IMPARTIAL AND PAID FOR BY THE MAGAZINE. 

Slice Pizza and Bread Bar, 1a Stevenson Square, City, M1 1DN. 0161 236 9032

Rating: 17/20 

Pizzas: 10/10
Service: 4/5
Ambience: 3/5

PLEASE NOTE: Venues are rated against the best examples of their kind: fine dining against the best fine dining, cafes against the best cafes. Following on from this the scores represent: 1-5 saw your leg off and eat it, 6-9 get a DVD, 10-11 if you must, 12-13 if you’re passing,14-15 worth a trip,16-17 very good, 17-18 exceptional, 19 pure quality, 20 perfect. More than 20, we get carried away.

SliceSlice

SliceSlice

SliceSlice

SliceSlice

Slice - waiting for its name but cooking up a dough stormSlice - waiting for its name but cooking up a dough storm

Like what you see? Enter your email to sign up for our newsletters which are chock-a-block with more great reviews, news, deals and savings.

33 comments so far, continue the conversation, write a comment.

Hero
Swiss JamesSeptember 5th 2012.

Cracking place - they catered for my birthday party too.

Aaron CornishSeptember 5th 2012.

Great to see the guys getting they credit they deserve! The pizza is fantastic and the guys obviously have a passion for it!

Alan WharrierSeptember 5th 2012.

An absolutely well deserved review... Its amazing, delicious!

Alan WharrierSeptember 5th 2012.

4/5 on the services is a bit low the lads are dead nice!

MeSeptember 5th 2012.

Absolutely love this place, gave it my first try on Monday, after many a referral. It is great, ace selection of pizza, tasty, not stodgy, great service, friendly owners. Not yet tried the gelato, but will definitely be back... roll on the drinks licence too.

AnonymousSeptember 5th 2012.

I'm Italian, I love pizza. I went when this opened, I found this place to be shockingly bad! I'll give it another go but...

1 Response: Reply To This...
Luca LaudaniJuly 14th.

Tornaci e vedrai la differenza... :)

DebbieSeptember 5th 2012.

I live in Italy and cannot wait to come back home to the UK just to try Slice! I know the guys and know for a fact they are doing a fab job. Well deserved Matt & Liam hopefully see you both soon :)

Andrew MellorSeptember 5th 2012.

I keep forgetting about this place despite it being round the corner, i.e. so very handy for late night cravings! I'll be there for sure after reading this!

GordoSeptember 5th 2012.

I take it all back....

AnonymousSeptember 6th 2012.

It craps on a certain pizza kitchen down the road, that's for certain.

Dylan McCafferySeptember 6th 2012.

Is it not the same guys who had the corner of the corn exchange years ago (pre bomb) and then moved somewhere near the arena?

1 Response: Reply To This...
StephSeptember 6th 2012.

No that was Buy the slice, they never actually sold pizza by the slice but you could buy a 19" pizza which was great. Don't bother with them now as they've been taken over by someone else and use rubbish ready made bases.

James SmithSeptember 6th 2012.

Looks great. I'll make a special journey

Lisa KenyonSeptember 6th 2012.

I am always hunting down the perfect pizza... yet to find anything to beat http://icco.co.uk/ in London but definitely going to try this place out :)

James ClancySeptember 6th 2012.

Can't seem to find a website for Slice... ! Would be nice to look at the menu online. Do they deliver I wonder...

1 Response: Reply To This...
StephSeptember 6th 2012.

They don't really have a menu they change what's on offer everyday depending upon what's fresh and popular.

IC5 MaleSeptember 6th 2012.

Isn't £2-£3 a slice a bit steep when you can go to Croma and get a whole pizza for between £5 - £7?

3 Responses: Reply To This...
GordoSeptember 6th 2012.

matter of economics you cant use the usual percentage rules when you drop below 4 quid. However, factor in the quality as well and they look VFM to me

AnonymousSeptember 6th 2012.

Two 'Slice' slices is probably the equivalent of a Croma pizza, they've always seemed a bit small to me.

the Whalley RangerSeptember 6th 2012.

The Croma seafood pizza is soggy like hell - I made a right tit of myself taking some Italian friends there...

Poster BoySeptember 6th 2012.

Cool -but better than Pizzeria Italia back in the day?...

David in CheshireSeptember 6th 2012.

Web site is here: http://www.slicepizza.co/ but it's only got a banner page so far ....

Daniel CoultasSeptember 6th 2012.

This place is OUTSTANDING well worth the hype, I just got back from Rome and even some of the Pizzas I had there didn't rival what these guys produce, truly great stuff.

IanSeptember 19th 2012.

Got a slice of the chorizo pizza for £2.75 which was good, crispy base.

Think the calzone style slices looked the best but only noticed afterwards so will try one this weekend. Foccacia and sandwiches looked pretty tasty too.

Maybe they should sell larger portions / full pizzas too?

AnonymousSeptember 20th 2012.

Popped in today after hearing good things. I'm sorry to say I wasn't very impressed. I had a slice of the broccoli, chilli and sausage pizza which was bland and lukewarm despite having just been reheated. Maybe I chose a bad one, I can see how it should have been great as it looked wonderful! A couple of other things bugged me about the place. When I asked for a serviette the staff seemed perplexed and brought me a bundle of blue roll. Is that such an odd request? And the TV in the corner was playing some loud tinny horrible music which just made me want to hurry up and leave. I hope I've just had a bad experience, but I'm not planning on repeating it.

AnonymousSeptember 21st 2012.

best pizza iv ever had even after living in italy!!!

Andy PoulsonSeptember 22nd 2012.

Sorry, we were here last night and I don't see the appeal of this place. Bland, re-heated pizza smothered with cheese and little else. TV playing Sky News so loud as to render conversation difficult, and no service to speak of. The whole experience felt like something one might put up with at an airport, but certainly not one to be willingly repeated.

IanSeptember 22nd 2012.

Running a little late opening today but waited 10 mins to get a tomato and rosemary foccacia, slice of ham and leek pizza and a mini calzone. Superb.

Josie RuddSeptember 26th 2012.

After seeing this review, I thought I'd try it out. Have to say I was not impressed in the slightest- very little selection and the slices we were given to take away were burnt. Won't be going back.

Liam SliceSeptember 26th 2012.

hey Andy, maybe you would like to pop back in to try another slice on me (liam), we make everything from fresh every morning and the mechanisms inside our Castelli scalda oven do not reheat the pizza they cook the pizza. Everywhere in Roma use Castelli. sometimes Sky news can be a bit loud (or the music) but we will never be offended if you tell either me or anybody else to turn it down, its just we run around preparing the freshest food and dont notice how loud it is sometimes! we use the finest Mozzarella, some of which is unavailable to the finest Italian places in the north, but paying extra to import it is the benifit of seeing a smile on customers faces (who like cheese!) if you would prefer a red pizza (with no cheese) we have them everyday, or you could opt for our focaccia bread! but please next time if you are not satisfied just ask for Liam or Matt and we will be more than happy to listen to you. have a (rainy) but good night pal! Liam Cassidy

John McCormackOctober 8th 2012.

What is wrong with you people, it is pizza, you won't be having a Michelin star experience, deal with it!
Having said that, I have been to Slice on three occassions in the last 2 months and I have yet to be disappointed. I now find myself recommending this place to people as often as I can.
I recommend starting with a bowl of soup across the Sq at the Soup Kitchen, then pop back over for pizza or sandwich at Slice, that is a proper lunch !
To date I have tried the broccolli, anchovie and chilli pizza 9/10, Focaccia, 9/10, Prociutto, mozzerella and rocket sandwich 9/10. How could this place be improved, well I would love it if they offered Italian style tapas dishes too.
Give this place a go but remember you are going for a slice of pizza not lunch at The Savoy.

Alberto RicciFebruary 8th 2013.

As an italian I can honestly say that their pizza is as good as I have tasted in any "pizza al taglio" shop back home. Good to see that with good ingredients, passion and dedication you can replicate italian food propely at an honest price. Makes me like Manchester even more!

To post this comment, you need to login.Please complete your login information.
OR CREATE AN ACCOUNT HERE..
Or you can login using Facebook.

Latest Rants

Jim

It's a poor restaurant with disappointing pizzas. They do quite well as they are in a prime…

 Read more
Anonymous

Agreed Croma is good for pizzas. Dough was pretty average last time I went, which was a while ago…

 Read more
Anonymous

No, that's Noddy Holder.

 Read more
rinkydink

Is that David on the right, at a Living Ventures opening??

 Read more

Explore The Site

© Mark Garner t/a Confidential Direct 2014

Privacy | Careers | Website by: Planet Code | SEO by The eWord